Happy farming John

I heard from CfA colleagues that John Huchra died on Friday, a horrible shock. Sean has already written about him over at Cosmic Variance, and his Wikipedia page has already been updated. The world moves fast these days. Here is John’s home page, where you can read about his work in his own words.

I last saw John just over a year ago, playing volleyball with my kids in Aspen along with other wide field survey notables. Still had his glasses on I think. Many years before that (1982ish), I was grateful to John for teaching me much of my optical observing skills. I was in process of converting from X-ray astronomer to optical astronomer, and together with John and Martin Elvis we were getting CCD images of Seyfert galaxies using the 24 inch at Mt Hopkins – a rather hands on telescope shall we say. A few things I remember from that first “proper astronomy” experience :

  • The TV acquisition camera had a weird dead patch somewhere near the middle. I asked John what this was. “Jupiter” he said.
  • Adjusting something in the dome, I asked John to pass the torch but he was too consumed with mirth to do so. Seems I should have said “flashlight”, as to Americans “torch” conjures up images of villagers chasing Frankenstein’s monster.
  • Apparently SAO should have consulted the local Indians. Mount Hopkins was always known to them as “Old Cloudy Top”
  • In the afternoon, if there was ANY sign of cloud, John would say “looks like we bought the farm Andy”. The fourth time he said this I asked him to explain. It comes from The War. Soldier buddies would sit around together, missing their folks, and say things like “When I get home, I’m going to buy me a little farm”. When someone was shot, and dying in his buddy’s arms, he would look up and whisper “Hey, Joe, looks like I finally bought that farm”

So, John, look after that farm. Its pumpkin season.

3 Responses to Happy farming John

  1. Michael Merrifield says:

    I was feeling quite nostalgic enough before you mentioned the dodgy patch on the 24-inch acquisition camera!

    John was a lovely man, and it has been my pleasure to stay in touch and store many delightful memories of him. He was a role model to generations of graduate students at the CfA, showing that being a great scientist and a nice person are not, contrary to popular myth, mutually exclusive. Just a few months ago, he kindly sent a message to one of the local astronomical societies here where I lend a hand, to congratulate them on their 40th anniversary: that simple entirely gratuitous act of kindness made everyone’s evening.

    Thank you, John.

  2. [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Farming News, Andy Lawrence. Andy Lawrence said: Happy Farming John http://bit.ly/9zaiOc : a few personal memories of John Huchra [...]

  3. [...] I was in process of converting from X-ray astronomer to optical astronomer, and together with John and Martin Elvis we were getting CCD images of Seyfert galaxies using the 24 inch at Mt Hopkins – a rather hands on telescope shall we … visit. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

