UKIDSS marches on

Yesterday saw the second data release (DR2) of the UKIRT Infrared Deep Sky Survey (UKIDSS), the biggest infrared sky survey so far. The UKIDSS home page is here, but you get the data from the WFCAM Science Archive (WSA).

I am the PI of the survey, but lots of other people do more work than me – especially Survey Scientist Steve Warren, who is the lynchpin of the whole thing, and Nigel Hambly, who masterminds the WSA. Nige is the one who has been losing sleep getting ready for the release..

This event put me in mind of a strange day a year back when I went out to Hawaii to do a UKIDSS observing run, and got stuck into a five hour conversation about science and religion. I would have expected this to irk me, but in fact it was fascinating .. I will try to write this up over the weekend…

Leave a Reply

