Head Spin

Life is packed with little paradoxes sent to test you. They jump at you just when your brain is hurting. After two theoretical cosmology seminars in a row the noggin was indeed aching and I needed coffee. This was when I saw the notice on the KIPAC coffee machine that says “Empty When Full”.

Maybe this is a Zen lesson ?

14 Responses to Head Spin

  1. That is funny….and annoying

  2. Tony says:

    Nah, it’s all quantum, innit!

  3. Martin E. says:

    perhaps a grammatical confusion of nouns and verbs? or am i just being boring. sorry.

  4. Michael Merrifield says:

    Maybe it was an attempt to reconcile the age-old battle between optimism and pessimism. Except surely it should be “half empty when half full.”

  5. David says:

    Blimey, I thought I was doing well to decode “Chicken-Fried Chicken” on menus, clearly I have much to learn.

    Or is that mu to learn?

  6. MikeW says:

    in the same vein, watch out for signs that say “This door is alarmed”

  7. andyxl says:

    Dave : I thought “chicken fried chicken” must be a typo, but no, its real and indeed head spinning, as described here . It seems you can’t really grok it unless born thre right side of the Mason-Dixon line.

  8. David says:

    it took me a little aback, however I tried to keep the confusion levels to a minimum and went for the Chicken Fried Steak instead.

    Then of course that turned up with “biscuits”…

  9. Tony says:

    Bit like in Aus where you can now get chips with chicken salt on them – gross.

  10. David says:

    Oh dear, I’m going native… I read “chips” and didn’t visualize Freedom Fries.

  11. Tony says:

    When I was a kid in Aus chips were the fatty things wrapped in newspaper and ‘potato chips’ were the crisps sold in packets – must have confused a lot of visitors. No idea what anyone calls either of them now – will report back in a few weeks – stay tuned!

  12. David says:

    I am reliably informed, and I quote, that “chips.au = crisps.uk, hot chips.au = chips.uk”, though the “hot” is apparently dropped when obvious from the context (e.g. in the chippie). At least this is the way in NSW, whence came my source.

    On the other hand, my sauce came from a bottle.

  13. Alan Heavens says:

    You should add a notice ‘Complain if there are no grounds’

  14. Яснеев says:

    Как там у вас с погодой? Давно не писали

Leave a Reply

