Mon ordinateur a ete cassee

Lessons I have learned this week. (i) Hold on to your laptop. (ii) Brush up your French. (iii) Never let your kids get hold of your work computer.

I have had emails asking if I am on holiday, as there haven’t been any blog posts recently. Well no, I have been in Strasbourg at the bi-annual IVOA interoperability shindig. Normally this wouldn’t stop me posting, but the first day I was there I dropped my lovely Macbook on the floor and as a result was without email for several days. I did get it fixed at an Apple store while still in Strasbourg, which stretched my Franglais considerably. (“Je crois que le disque dur est completement buggered”). However the automatic restore from my Time Machine failed, so I ended up with OS X 10.5 speaking French and had to figure out which library files to move one by one to recover my app settings and printer drivers and unix-y bits. My Mac was still speaking French in various unexpected circumstances until I took it to the Palo Alto Apple Store Genius Bar where a guru who looked like an enormous biker did some voodoo. He also spotted why my Time Machine restore failed : the name of my hard disc had changed back in February but nobody had told Time Machine as it were. Ah yes. I remember. Number four child (eight years old) borrowed my laptop to play Flash games on some website and when I got it back, my hard disc had been renamed “ererer”. He couldn’t quite remember how he had done this but I thought it was funny so I left it. Hah.

But at least its stopped me getting more depressed about STFC cuts.

Oh and the food was good. Just for Tony ….mmmmmm… Baeckoffe.

4 Responses to Mon ordinateur a ete cassee

  1. Tony says:

    Yes, i do miss the Baeckoffe: my sort of food – peasant style. Though it is somewhat less attractive from the 30+ degree heat of Crete I must say. Really requires lots of snow outside and lots of red wine inside. Glad to see you back online and restored.

  2. andyxl says:

    Crete works with red wine inside too. Some kind of Universal Law operating here.

  3. Norman Gray says:

    Crete is a dump. No beer worth speaking of, in a hotel €30 from the nearest civilisation, nothing to see except sand, swimming pools and squalling families, 300+ temperatures (my personal limit), and with 50% packet-loss on the wireless. Grumble mutter fkrxypz can’t we have the conference in Svalbard next year?

  4. Tony says:

    Oh dear. Maggie and I really enjoyed it: everything laid on in the hotel, food reasonable, staff friendly, nice warm weather, good rooms with decent aircon. We liked the Mythos beer. Conference wifi was poor but lobby of Royal Mare had good wireless connection: was a lot quieter there than Royal Knossos hotel as well.

    Though I would be happy to go to Svalbard – where is it next year btw?

Leave a Reply

