Museum of Hoaxes

Now midday has passed, if there is anybody still trying to download the Planck data from Wikileaks, I can gently point out it was a all a Poisson D’Avril by that naughty Strudel chappie. Stu has lots of other astro-geeky stuff, so check it out.

Planck leaks wins this years April Fool prize for me – funny, near the knuckle, and had me taken in but bemused for a little while as it was the first one I came across. But I also very much enjoyed Jon Butterworth’s “evidence for String Theory” post. Just slightly nutty. But thats String Theory for you. Outside the science world, Google seems to have taken over the role of the BBC as official purveyor of April Fool jokes. I liked “Introducing Gmail Tap” and the “Google Street Roo“. My kids really liked the Quest View in Google maps. (Check it out before it goes !)

Is this an April Fool’s joke ? There seems to be genuine doubt !

So I was tempted to drift through the InterWeb and collect lots of old classic April Fool jokes, like the Spaghetti Harvest and the Flying Penguins and so on, but I stumbled across a web site that has already done it beautifully – the Museum of Hoaxes. As well as the Top 100 April Fool’s Day Hoaxes, it has lots of other hilarious stuff. My personal favourite is the bloke who convinced Alaska residents that Mount Edgecumbe was going to erupt, by setting fire to hundreds of old tires in its crater. The Museum of Hoaxes web site seems to suggest it has an actual physical presence on San Diego, but maybe they just photo-shopped those pictures…

24 Responses to Museum of Hoaxes

  1. Michael Merrifield says:

    Radio 4 announced this morning that as part of its commitment to drama, it would be relocating The Archers to inner-city Birmingham, to make it more relevant to today’s society. I just managed to stop myself reaching for the green ink…

  2. Alan Heavens says:

    The semi-colonial state of San Serriffe is one of my favourites. See http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Serriffe . The beach at Gill Sands is exceptionally good; in fact all of Lower Caisse is stunning, right down to Thirty Point. There is a map and a useful source of information at http://www.metaltype.co.uk/stories/story23.shtml ; I will send you photos after my summer holiday there in June.

    • Monica Grady says:

      San serriffe is also my all time favourite. I especially liked how the islands moved because of tidal erosion and deposition.
      Mon

      • Michael Merrifield says:

        Because I am that ancient, I also remember the original supplement had an advert from Guinness in it, in which they offered their special brew from San Seriffe where, due to the unusual climatic conditions of its production, when you poured it the head ended up at the bottom.

  3. Albert says:

    My personal favourite is on extracting sounds from ancient pottery. A recent version is listed on

    But I remember variations of this being reported in the 1970’s. Those referred to an acoustic archaeologist, who inserted the needle of a record player (remember those?) into a spiraling groove etched into an old Egyptian vase. The researcher discovered that the etching needle had vibrated in response to sounds in the pottery. By rotating the vase at the same rate that was used by the potter who etched the spiral, a 3000-yr old Egyptian folk song was recovered!

    • Michael Merrifield says:

      Not entirely a hoax: Woodbridge (1969, Proc IEEE, 57, 1465-1466, “Acoustic recordings from antiquity”).

      • Albert Zijlstra says:

        There is method in the madness. Still madness though.

        Baryonic acoustic oscillations are a million times older than Woodbridge’s antiquity. Aural cosmology. Could we measure the pitch change as one of those oscillations passes us?

      • Music of the spheres at last?

  4. As a proper operating system, utilities on VMS don’t do anything as crude as hard-coding error messages in the program. Rather, there is a mechanism whereby a status (which is a 32-bit number where each bit has a well defined meaning) is related to a nicely constructed error message, this being stored in something called a message file. So, a user with sufficient privileges can temporarily replace the real message file with a joke one on 1 April.

    http://zinser.no-ip.info/www/common/vms/fun/aprilfool.msg

    • Albert says:

      Never knew there were so many errors in VMS. wasn’t there a similar (but shorter..) list for windows? The only one I remember from that is ‘error buffer overflow’

  5. Joesph Gist says:

    Joesph Gist…

    […]Museum of Hoaxes « The e-Astronomer[…]…

  6. hey there and thank you for your information – I have definitely picked up something new from right here.
    I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get
    it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  7. Sometimes, a thyroid imbalance or deficiency of vitamin B12 can natural remedies for grey white hair also result in hair loss.
    This is the most natural remedies for grey white hair vocal.
    The vaccine situation will probably be water under the bridge soon enough,
    he said there was a need to generate revenue by sharing details with advertisers.
    Cash & Pruzinsky there are three factors at work to form an individual’s perceived body image: culture, individual biology and membership status within the cultural group. As one ages, the level of intensity.

  8. But of course the difference is that the questions provided
    are all about Math concepts and the answers are all numbers, no words.
    This combination typically calls for high
    bay, multi-level, high-density storage, and a random
    location strategy. Unlike management style games such as Restaurant City and Roller Coaster
    Kingdom the layout does not play a major role in your earnings
    potential.

  9. I think everything said made a great deal of sense. But, what about
    this? what if you were to create a killer post title?
    I mean, I don’t wish to tell you how to run your website, however suppose you added a post title to possibly
    grab people’s attention? I mean Museum of Hoaxes | The e-Astronomer is a little
    plain. You ought to glance at Yahoo’s home page
    and note how they create post headlines to get viewers
    to click. You might add a related video or a picture or
    two to get readers interested about everything’ve written. In my opinion, it would
    bring your posts a little bit more interesting.

  10. That is really attention-grabbing, You are an excessively skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look ahead to looking for more
    of your excellent post. Additionally, I have shared your website in my
    social networks

  11. account says:

    I like the valuable infߋrmation yoou supply ffor ƴour articles.
    Ӏ will bookmrk ʏour blog ɑnd take a look at once more rigt Һere frequently.
    ӏ am reasonably sure I’ll learn ɑ lot оf neѡ stuff riɡht riցht Һere!
    Besst of luck fօr the next!

  12. Hi i am kavin, its my first occasion to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece
    of writing i thought i could also make comment due
    to this sensible piece of writing.

  13. I appreciate, cause I found exactly what I was looking
    for. You’ve ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
    man. Have a great day. Bye

  14. Great work! That is the kind of info that are supposed to be shared around the web.
    Disgrace on the search engines for not positioning
    this post higher! Come on over and discuss with my website .
    Thanks =)

  15. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and
    was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading
    your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  16. Quality articles is the main to invite the visitors to pay a quick visit the
    web page, that’s what this website is providing.

  17. Etta says:

    It’s really a nice and useful piece of information. I am glad that you shared this helpful info with
    us. Please stay us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

