Ludwig and Bertie

Over at Cosmic Variance, Julianne listed Twenty Insults from P.G.Wodehouse, and myself and his Colesness joined in.  I have to confess that I find P.G.Wodehouse inexplicably exhilarating. His books are complete and utter light hearted nonsense of no consequence whatsoever; but they are  just perfect. His writing is a perfect jewel. Its like Mozart in ink. The cares of the world drop away, your smile widens, and the world is a good place. Why it works is a mystery. The plots and the jokes are somehow always the same and yet ever fresh.

I always take a Wodehouse with me when I go on an observing run, and sometimes two so I can save one up for when too many long nights have made me depressed and stressed. It always works.

Years ago, I boarded a plane with a very distinguished professorial colleague on the way to La Palma. We got out our respective reading material. Mine was a Bertie and Jeeves. His was a biography of Wittgenstein. He didn’t say anything but looked askance and I knew that he was disappointed and a little shocked that I was reading something so trashy. He knew that I knew.

Forty minutes passed and suddenly he snorted. He turned to me smiling. “OK” he said, “I apologise. I have just discovered that Wittgenstein’s favourite author was P.G.Wodehouse”.

One day if you get me in the pub I will explain the plot of a play a friend of mine once wrote called “Ludwig and Bertie” which features Jeeves, Bertrand Russell, Bertie Wooster, Ludwig Wittgenstein, a library in Cambridge, and a rhinoceros.

12 Responses to Ludwig and Bertie

  1. telescoper says:

    I went to India some time ago and was astonished to learn that in Pune, where I was staying, the bookshops were filled with PG Wodehouse novels. I’m not sure it’s the case any more but at that time (about 15 years ago) Wodehouse was still the number 1 best selling British author in India.

  2. Nick Cross says:

    I love Jeeves and Wooster, and have read many of his other books, most recently “The Girl in Blue”. He is a master of comic prose.

  3. Rob Ivison says:

    shouldn’t Peter be his Coleship, or does that sound too industrial/anatomical?

  4. telescoper says:

    How about “His Coliness”?

  5. […] have written before of the delights of P.G.W. Hope I’m not boring you. Doing a bit of book shuffling, I […]

  6. honoriaplum says:

    Name the pub and I’ll be there!

  7. We all want to know who the distinguished colleague was. What do we have to do to find out?

  8. Neil. says:

    Where could I get a script of the play please?

Leave a Reply

